The Double-Edged Sword of Community

Article Title

I love spending time with friends and family and acquaintances and pretty much anybody else you could think of. I’ve always been an extremely community-oriented person. However, in the past couple of years I have found myself wanting more and more alone time. At first, I thought it meant something was wrong with me. I found myself itching to spend some time by myself and I couldn’t figure out why…because, “what would I do by myself??” And then it hit me, the Lord wants us to be alone with Him.

Now, I have always spent quiet time in the Word, but it was more of a check off my list of things to do for the day. As I spent more time alone, I realized that time with the Lord is not only while reading your Bible or praying. Spending time with the Lord can mean spending time using one of the gifts He has given you. I enjoy drawing and lettering and I’ve taken to lettering Scriptures or quotes about the Lord. Simply spending time in the presence of God is the most refreshing and rewarding part of any day. God created us to glorify Him, but he also allows us to enjoy His presence.

This is not to say that we cannot do this in community. I’ve had so many life-changing moments with God in a large group. We are given community as a gift. We were CREATED to be in relationships with others. Other people can challenge us, encourage us, uplift us, convict us, and hold us accountable. I’ve seen the work of the Lord through the lives of others time and time again.

However, we cannot form a personal relationship with God if we never spend time with Him on our own. Whether it’s reading His Scriptures, going to Him in prayer, singing praises to Him, listening to a sermon, or any other means of spending time with Him, God WANTS us to know Him alone. Even if it’s driving in the car, shutting off the radio, and praying aloud to the Lord. Matthew 6:6 says, “But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen.” We must spend time alone with God. When I had no clue why I had a sudden longing to spend time alone, the Lord gently nudged me to speak to Him, and that has made all the difference.

Simply spending time in the presence of God is the most refreshing and rewarding part of any day. God created us to glorify Him, but he also allows us to enjoy His presence.

Hannah
Hannah Jones

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA FOR DAILY UPDATES:  fb-art Twitter-logo-1 49803d8eb5ea235a5860ac942caece70_download-png-download-eps-instagram-logo-clipart-png_1024-1024 yt_1200-vfl4C3T0K-960x750

Leave a Reply

