Fully Known and Deeply Loved

Article Title-2

I am a big fan of watercoloring. I am by no means, an artist, but really find relaxation in meditating on scripture and *pretending* to know how to paint around it. One day a few summers ago, as I was painting, I kept thinking of the phrase “fully known and deeply loved,” repeating in my head over and over. I began to paint, and it has been a truth that I have always clung to, especially as a college student, all these years later.

Do you ever feel like God gives you a word or phrase to think about and rest in? It could be for the day or for an extended season of your life, but as a person who loves words, I am convinced that God had this phrase for me, as something to take to heart. He knows how to best communicate to us.

When I think about the phrase, “fully known and deeply loved,” I am reminded of numerous passages and promises of the bible that point us to Christ’s unconditional love.

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8.

“But you, Oh Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.”  Psalm 86:15

Our identity is secure in the fact that we are loved and held by our Father. These promises of God’s unfailing love were true 200 years ago, they are true today, and they will still be a fact tomorrow when we forget again. It is in God’s nature to love us; it is who He is. This defines Him and in turn, defines us as His children.

To be fully known is a bit scary to me at first. But when I remember the reality that we are also deeply loved in the midst of it all, I am left amazed and thankful. God sees into the depths of our hearts and still loves us the same.

Psalm 139 says, “ You have searched me Lord and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.  You discern my going in and my lying down; you are familiar with all of my ways. Before a word is on my tongue, you know it completely. You hem me in behind and before,  and you lay your hand upon me…. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?”

He is familiar with all of our ways – nothing is a surprise to Him. He made your heart, and you can fully trust that He knows how to nurture it. He is protective, and perfect in love, hemming us in behind and before. Fully known and deeply loved, even if we go to the depths of darkness, He is there, and is steadfast in pursuit of our whole heart. 

What’s so cool about this, is that we are not just fully loved and known, but we are also transformed! Because we were raised with Christ, and changed by Him, we are now given the capacity to love as He has loved us. We can now love more deeply, and more compassionately. By His power, we have more patience, a fuller understanding and are slower to anger. We can show Christ’s love to  those around us by extending grace, and truly knowing them while loving them still. That is what community is all about when Christ is in our midst.

I hope this encourages you, and reminds you that you are covered by His love daily. He knows your every thought, every need and every hope, and loves you with a personal love.  Not only that, but he is presenting  us daily with opportunities to love others in the same deep way that He does – full of compassion, keeping no record of wrongs.

He made your heart, and you can fully trust that He knows how to nurture it.

Picture1
Cara Glynn

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA FOR DAILY UPDATES:  fb-art Twitter-logo-1 49803d8eb5ea235a5860ac942caece70_download-png-download-eps-instagram-logo-clipart-png_1024-1024 yt_1200-vfl4C3T0K-960x750

 

Leave a Reply

