His Scars Say You’re Beautiful

Article Title

It’s summertime! Bring on the road trips and “windows down car sing-alongs!” Hopefully I’m not the only one that takes part in car karaoke… for  some reason it is just a lot more enjoyable when you can put your windows down. The other day, as I was driving around town, the super catchy song, “Scars to Your Beautiful” started playing during one of my routine car karaoke jams. It’s lyrics go like this:

There’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark

You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are

And you don’t have to change a thing

The world could change its heart

No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful.”

I had probably heard this song millions of times, but today as I drove, I immediately thought of The Gospel. Call me corny, but suddenly, this pop song with catchy lyrics became a lesson. Who knew God could speak through songs on the American Top 40?!  There is a Hope that’s waiting for us in the dark. There is someone who accepts us just the way we are. We don’t have to change a thing, or work our entire lives to achieve perfection – HIS scars say we’re beautiful.

In the book of  Exodus, the Israelites, God’s chosen people, are escaping slavery from Pharaoh’s rule. God appoints Moses to lead His people out, but in his own strength, Moses cannot convince Pharaoh to let them go. God shows His almighty power by sending 10 plagues to the people of Egypt; horrific things, such as a river of blood, swarms of flies,  and the death of firstborn sons. God required the sacrifice of a perfect lamb in order to avoid the effects of the plagues.

Exodus 12:12-13 says, “For I will pass through the land of Egypt that night, and I will strike all the firstborn in the land of Egypt, both man and beast; and on all the gods of Egypt I will execute judgments: I am the Lord. The blood shall be a sign for you, on the houses where you are. And when I see the blood, I will pass over you, and no plague will befall you to destroy you, when I strike the land of Egypt.” (Exodus 12:12-13, ESV)

Unless a person wanted to experience the torture of the plagues, they had to adorn their door frames with the blood of a perfect sacrificial lamb. By this blood, God would know to pass over that home.

Blood of a perfect lamb….does that sound familiar? Clearly, today we do not have to smear blood on our door frames to receive forgiveness or pardon from God. This passage seems to foreshadow the coming of Jesus and the reality of the Gospel in our lives today.   Jesus is the ultimate sacrifice. The perfect Lamb of God that covers all of our “houses” with his blood.

Now, when God looks at you and me, all He sees is Jesus. That statement blew my mind when I first heard it. “Surely He sees past it, and into my mess… I mean, I know he loves me, but not as much as He loves Jesus,” I would convince myself. Wrong. Crazy as it is, Jesus’ blood and the love that He poured out on the cross for us is enough for God to “pass over” our mess, and invite us into freedom. Galatians 3:26 tells us that through the act of love by Christ, we are all children of God through faith, and if we know anything about God it is that He loves His Children. Jesus invites us into the family. One of my favorite Pastors, Levi Lusko, says it this way, “No matter what you have done, if you remember to keep the blood of Jesus on top of you, God can’t even see your sin because you are hidden in your Savior. When you have that message in your heart, you are unstoppable. ” The scars that He sustained are the very marks that define our beauty, our worth and our standing with God. His scars say that we are beautiful.

The scars that He sustained are the very marks that define our beauty, our worth and our standing with God.

Picture1
Cara Glynn

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA FOR DAILY UPDATES:  fb-art Twitter-logo-1 49803d8eb5ea235a5860ac942caece70_download-png-download-eps-instagram-logo-clipart-png_1024-1024 yt_1200-vfl4C3T0K-960x750

Leave a Reply

